Health and Beauty 104

14 Jun

I am back.  I took a few weeks off to study for my Praxis II middle school science content area certification test.  All I can say is that I am glad it is over, but now I pray that I passed so that I do not have to take it over on July 23.  That would not be good!  I am sure that you all have noticed that I changed the blog format with a different theme.  I stumbled upon this theme and felt it was a little nicer for my blog and maybe a little bit more me.  Let me know your thoughts!


HAIR

Most people will describe their hair as either fine, medium or thick.  What they are really describing is the density, or the number of hairs per square inch on the head.  Did you know that blondes have the most number of hair strands and red heads have the least?  Brown and black hair are obviously in the middle.

Hair texture is also important when describing hair.  It is also referred to as fine, medium or coarse.  Texture is the degree of courseness or fineness of each hair and may vary on different parts of the head.  These variations are attributed to the diameter of the strand where coarse hair has the largest and very fine the smallest.  Hair texture describes mostly the feel of the hair whether it be soft or like mine, a wiry Brillo Pad.  These characteristics are important when styling and especially when having chemical services done.

It is so crazy.  I was born with wavy hair and when I was about 2 years old my dad decided to play barber.  He took me out to the backyard and cut off all my waves while my mother was at work.  Had she been home, this would have never taken place.  I went from having longer wavy beautiful girly hair to this short boyish and Vidal Sassoonish style.  After that haircut, my hair was straight as a board and wouldn’t curl if your life depended on it.  And of course, I yearned for those wavy spirals. Maybe that is why I was always fascinated with round hair brushes.  I thought, “Hmmmm, this may actually make my hair curly,”  but it always only resulted in a big hairy: “Mom!!!!!!  Get this brush out of my hair,”  tangled catastrophe that led to tears the size of oceans and hours of getting the brush out sessions!

Today, my hair is a big wavy frizzy mess!  I don’t know what happened.  My texture has completely changed for the worse at about age 21.  It is wavy, and of course not evenly through out my head, and very coarse and wiry.  Back in the 1980’s, I use to pay for curls (perms) and now I have them permanently for free; go figure, I got my childhood wish.  Not until about 12 years ago, one wouldn’t catch me dead with my hair curly.  I always had to straighten it, and now I wished my hair was straight.  Maybe it is true when they say, “Be careful for what you wish for.”  This is where the round brush could be beneficial to me, but to this day, I have a fear of round brushes.  Even though I use them daily on clients, I just simply CAN NOT master the round brush on my own hair and perhaps it is because I may be slightly uncoordinated, but I really think the underlying cause is the fear.  All I have to say is thank God for the invention of the flat iron that allows me to cheat.

I have finally come to terms with my nappy out of control mane and actually don’t mind my curls.  With the use of some great hair products, I can somewhat control the craziness and enhance the waviness.  I am now also going to explore keratin treatments that do not contain formaldehyde derivatives.  I will talk about keratin treatments on a future blog.

SKIN

What is SPF?  SPF refers to sun protection factor, or how long one can stay in the sun before the skin reddens without protection.  So, for example, when using SPF 15, it will take 15 times longer for the UV rays to redden your skin as opposed to not having any sunscreen.  Using SPF 30 will take 30 times longer to redden the skin as opposed to not using sunscreen, etc….

Some of the ingredients to look for are zinc oxide, titanium dioxide, avobenzone, oxybenzone, and ecamsule.  These ingredients provide chemical and physical protection to your skin while out in the sun.  Most UV  sunscreen filters are chemical where a thin, protective film on the surface of the skin is formed which  absorbs the UV radiation before it penetrates the skin.  The physical sunscreen filters are insoluble particles that reflect UV away from the skin.  Sunscreens typically contain both chemical and physical ingredients.

It is important to remember to apply sunscreen approximately 30 minutes prior to being in the sun and to reapply about every 2 hours.  Sometimes when swimming or sweating profusely, you may have to reapply more often.

BODY

Seventeen years ago when I decided to lose weight properly, I knew that I had to incorporate exercise to accelerate the process.  I began to utilize the Co-Rec at Purdue, a facility bigger and better than a health club,  more often.  My typical exercise regime included some sort of aerobic exercise such as running ( and what a motivator to go run on the track just to inconspicuously check out the hot Purdue men playing basketball down below, or the 1980’s craze, inspired by Jane Fonda and Richard Simmons:  Aerobics (dancing, jumping and kicking to music while wearing spandex leotards with tanga panties that had a dental floss string up your butt crack and can’t for get the sweat headbands across your forehead).

Aerobic means with air or oxygen, so aerobic exercise is pretty much anything cardio or elevating your heart rate.  Aerobic exercise uses large muscle groups and is maintained for a duration, typically 30 minutes.  Some exercises include walking, jogging, using elliptical machines, zumba, you get the picture.

Anaerobic means without oxygen or air, so anaerobic exercise includes high intensity activities without oxygen.  Now that is not literal, but what happens is that your body is exercising at a rate that the blood stream can not supply oxygen to the muscles for energy, thus lactic acid builds in the oxygen deprived muscle.  The muscles still receive oxygen; however, not enough to keep up with the intensity of the activity.  Some anaerobic activities include, football, basketball, soccer, circuit or interval training and weight lifting.

It is important to include both of these types of exercises because doing cardio helps get rid of fat while anaerobic helps build lean muscle mass.  Today, my exercise program includes using an elliptical machine, walking on the treadmill or outside when the weather is nice or using a recumbent bike.  I also include weights into my program, and I will tell you the weights is what sucked me in.  Using weights completely reshaped my body where today people tell me that I need to gain weight.  SERIOUSLY??????  Thought I’d NEVER  hear that; EVER.

One thing is for sure.  Because I love to eat, and I eat all kinds of food (I never deprive myself), I have accepted the fact that I will have to exercise 3-5 times a week to maintain my weight!  FOREVER!!!!!!!!  I will say; however, that I actually enjoy it.  It is MY time, just for me.  It also helps relieve my stress, and sometimes whatever is bothering me.  I take it out on the treadmill or elliptical machine.  Since my body is acclimated to constant exercise weekly, when I skip a couple of days, oh, my body so craves it, badly.  It is like a drug.

I do encourage all of you out there who want to start an exercise program, start moving just by walking.  That is the first step, so go out there and take advantage of the great outdoors, especially since it IS summer time!  Perfect time to start!

SOUL

A few weeks ago, I was going out with my family and wanted to wear my sterling silver jewelry.  The night before, I don’t know why I took a look at it only to notice that some of the pieces were slightly tarnished, AGAIN!  I found a great easy recipe that cleans silver.  YES, it removes the tarnish without polishing or scrubbing, and what a messy hassle that is.  If I had to do that to clean my silver, well, let’s just say that I would probably put that jewelry at the bottom of my jewelry box, and it would never see the light of day adorning my wrists, neck or fingers.   I guess that I am somewhat admitting to the fact that I can be lazy when it comes to polishing the nooks and crannies of my body silverware.  I have taken some photos with my cheapo Coolpix camera, but you will be able to get a visual.

Now as you can see, this is my jewelery before.  Yes, I know, it is difficult to see the tarnish, and maybe I should have used a white towel to perhaps “show” the tarnish better.

The first thing you want to do is take some aluminum foil and make a “bowl” out of it by scrunching up the sides.  Once you have done that, place your tarnished jewelry into the bowl.

The next thing you want to do is cover the jewelry with baking soda.  I usually also place the aluminum bowel into the kitchen sink.

Once the jewelry is covered in baking soda, bring about two cups of water to a rolling boil.  When the water is boiling, take it off the heat and pour it over the baking soda covered jewelry.  Watch not to burn yourself.

Watch it fizzle for about a minute or two.  Remove the jewelry and wipe the excess water off, and WA-LAH…….clean silver without polishing!   Depending on how badly tarnished your pieces are, you may have to repeat this process a few times.

OK…I know you can’t tell from my crappy photo, but trust me; it works!  The hot water provides energy to the aluminum foil and baking soda to cause a chemical reaction in which the aluminum draws out the dirt or tarnish.  This is a very simple process and is quick.  You can also clean your silver silverware too.  Try it out and let me know how it works for you!



One Response to “Health and Beauty 104”

  1. Millie Majstorovich-Thro June 14, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Thanks, Nancy!!! I’m going to try to clean my silver jewelry now!!!!

Leave a Reply

